top of page

Book Review: Princess Saves Herself in This One - Amanda Lovelace

Updated: Apr 30, 2019

“The story of a princess turned damsel turned queen.”


I received this book as a gift from a friend and I devoured it in less than a day! I have an ever growing obsession with poetry and this novel helped to keep that infatuation very much alive!


About the Book:


The Princess Saves Herself in This One is a debut poetry novel by Amanda Lovelace. The book is split into 4 parts: "the princess, the damsel, the queen, and you".


The poems in the first three parts center around the speakers journey of self love and coming to terms with relationships and handling death.


No surprise that as the ‘princess’ moves through these poems and in turn through life she learns to save herself by finding self love and a functional and healthy romantic relationship.


The book ends with a section titled “you” which features poems written to the reader to encourage self love and confidence.


My Favorite Poems:

  • Sisters, pg 30

  • My Dragons, pg 45


Overall Opinion:


I would rate this book 5/5!


I LOVED this collection of poems! I haven’t always loved reading poetry, but poets like Amanda Lovelace and Rupi Kaur remind me that poetry can be simple and still make just as deep of an impact as a Shakespearean sonnet.


I really liked the ways she described events in her life but intertwined them with this idea of fantasy characters such as princesses and dragons. It adds an extra element to her words that I not only relate to but find very intriguing.


I definitely recommend picking up a copy of The Princess Save Herself in this One and adding it to your personal collection.


Upon some search into Amanda Lovelace I found her sequel that I am definitely going to be picking up soon, ‘the witch doesn’t burn in this one’.

0 comments
bottom of page